Team Minnesota edges Iowa in 18th Border Battle Meet

CRESCO - A near-capacity crowd was treated to a thrilling night of wrestling on Friday, March 8 during the 18th Annual Border Battle as Team Minnesota nipped Team Iowa, 42-39. 
Minnesota’s win evened the overall series at 9-9. The Border Battle was sponsored by the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame.
Four Crestwood seniors  gave their all at the meet including: Kaden Anderlik, Colter Bye, Stone Peckham and Hunter Fousek. Anderlik and Bye both placed third at the 2019 State Tournament, and Peckham competed at State this year but did not place. Anderlik recently concluded his Crestwood career with 166 career wins, which is a new school record.
In Match 1, Anderlik notched a 10-3 decision over Ty Smidt of Stewartville. In Match 5, Bye tallied an 11-2 major decision over Ethan Meyer of Stewartville. Peckham recorded an 8-0 major decision over Carter Janssen of Stewartville in Match 11. Fousek battled hard in Match 12 before he lost by fall to Ty Smidt.
In Match 9, Decorah’s Andy Murphy gave a solid effort before he lost by fall to Noah Herber of Lewiston-Altura-Rushford-Peterson. South Winn’s Tayton Bullerman competed hard before he was pinned by Ethan Meyer in Match 16. 
Cam Rasing of New Hampton-Turkey Valley won a 5-2 decision over Tyler Soltau of Zumbrota in Match 4. In Match 7, Riceville’s Chad Eastman posted a 12-2 major decision over Marcus Chavez of Southland.
Team Minnesota took a 27-14 overall lead after nine matches before wins by Iowa’s Garret Keehner of MFL and Stone Peckham of Crestwood cut the lead to 27-24. Minnesota won two of the next three to push the lead to 36-27 with three maches left.
In Match 15, Nathan Hyde of Wapsie Valley won by fall to cut Minnesota’s lead to 36-33. However, Ethan Meyer of Stewartville won by fall over Bullerman of South Winn to give Minnesota a 42-33 lead and clinch the dual.
Complete results from each match are as follows.
Match 1: Kaden Anderlik (IA) won dec. over Ty Smidt (MN) 10-3.
M2: Brody Olson (MN) won by fall over Gunner Rodgers (IA).
M3: Carter Marx (MN) won by fall over Weston Fantz (IA).
M4: Cam Rasing (IA) won dec. over Tyler Soltau (MN) 5-2.
M5: Colter Bye (IA) won maj. dec. over Ethan Meyer (MN) 11-2.
M6: Clayton Luthe (MN) won dec. over Troy Monahan (IA) 3-1.
M7: Chad Eastman (IA) won maj. dec. over Marcus Chavez (MN) 12-2.
M8: Dominic Jenkins (MN) won by fall over Hunter Miller (IA).
M9: Noah Herber (MN) won by fall over Andy Murphy (IA).
M10: Garret Keehner (IA) won by fall over Ivan Vargas (MN).
M11: Stone Peckham (IA) won maj. dec. over Carter Janssen (MN) 8-0.
M12: Ty Smidt (MN) won by fall over Hunter Fousek (IA).
M13: Miles Hansmeier (IA) won dec. over Brody Olson (MN) 7-6.
M14: Carter Marx (MN) won triple OT dec. over Michael Egan (IA) 3-2.
M15: Nathan Hyde (IA) won by fall over Tyler Soltau (MN).
M16: Ethan Meyer (MN) won by fall over Tayton Bullerman (IA).
M17: Rylan Duffy (IA) won by fall over Clayton Luthe (MN).

Cresco Times

Phone: 563-547-3601
Fax: 563-547-4602

Cresco TPD
214 N. Elm Street
Cresco, IA 52136

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed