NHTV wrestlers win NEIC tourney


WAVERLY - The Class 2A No. 1 New Hampton-Turkey Valley wrestling team put an end to Waverly-Shell Rock’s conference run by capturing first place with 231 points at the Northeast Iowa Conference Tourney Saturday in Waverly.
The Waverly-SR Go Hawks had won 13 straight NEIC Tournament titles (2005-17) until NH-TV captured the team title Saturday. NH-TV claimed five individual champions, had two second place finishers and three third place finishers en route to the team championship.
Individual NH-TV champs included: Johnny Dreckman (106), Michael Blockhus (145), Noah Glaser (170), Evan Rosonke (182) and Areon Day (220). Turkey Valley senior Cale Reicks performed well as he placed third at 160 pounds to improve his overall record to 40-9.
NH-TV will compete in the Class 2A Sectional Tournament at home on Saturday, Feb. 3 at noon.
Team standings from the NEIC Tournament included: 1. NH-TV 231 points; 2. Crestwood 218.5; 3. Waverly-SR 217.5; 4. Decorah 149; 5. Charles City 109; 6. Waukon 80; 7. Oelwein 55.
Individual results for Cale Reicks are listed below.
160: Cale Reicks 3rd
Quarterfinal - Cale Reicks (NHTV) won by fall over Brandon Gulrud (Dec) (Fall 1:44); Semi- Bryson Hervol (WSR) won by decision over Cale Reicks (NHTV) (4-2);  Cons. Semi - Cale Reicks (NHTV) won by maj decision over Bryan Graves (Oel) (MD 13-5); 3rd Place - Cale Reicks (NHTV) won by fall over Elliott Sinnwell (CC) (Fall 1:20).

Cresco Times

Phone: 563-547-3601
Fax: 563-547-4602

Cresco TPD
214 N. Elm Street
Cresco, IA 52136

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed