Cadet girls nab basketball honors, Sickles named top 3A coach


CRESCO - All five of Crestwood’s starters on the girls’ basketball team garnered All-Northeast Iowa Conference honors for the 2017-18 season. The Cadets won the NEIC crown this year with a mark of 12-0 and won the Class 3A title.
Senior Shannon Pisney, senior Ellie Friesen and sophomore Sharon Goodman were all named First Team All-NEIC. Seniors Emily Friesen and Brynn Bodermann were both named Second Team All-NEIC.
 Pisney, Ellie Friesen and Goodman were also named to the Class 3A All-State Tournament Team, and all three girls were also named First Team All-State by the Iowa Girls’ Coaches Association.
Crestwood Head Coach Doug Sickles was named the State Coach of the Year in Class 3A by the IGCA. Sickles guided the Cadets to the State Tournament in 2014, 2015, 2017 and 2018.
“Earning this coaching award is a testament to my assistant coaches and my players,” Sickles noted. “Awards like this don’t come without them.”
Pisney earned First Team honors in 2017 and was named to the Second Team in 2015. Ellie Friesen nabbed First Team honors in 2017. Emily Friesen earned Honorable Mention in 2017. Bodermann was named to the First Team in 2016 and Second Team in 2017.
Goodman led the team with 518 points (19.9 per game), was first in rebounds with 184, led the team with 49 blocks, had 19 steals and 17 assists. Pisney tallied 514 points, nailed 30 three-pointers, had 180 rebounds, tallied 80 assists, 58 steals and had 14 blocks.
Ellie Friesen recorded 315 points, led the team with 62 three-pointers, had 129 rebounds, led the team with 245 assists, had a team-high 66 steals and 10 blocks. Emily Friesen posted 144 points, had 29 three-pointers, 109 rebounds, 97 assists and 36 steals. Bodermann had 168 points, nailed 29 three-pointers, had 56 rebounds, 70 assists and 42 steals.
Final NEIC standings: 1. Crestwood 12-0; 2. Waverly-SR 9-3; 3. Waukon 9-3; 4. New Hampton 5-7; 5. Decorah 5-7; 6. Oelwein 2-10; 7. Charles City 0-12.
First Team
Shannon Pisney, sr, Crestwood; Ellie Friesen, sr, Crestwood; Sharon Goodman, soph, Crestwood; Isabel Leichtman, sr, New Hampton; Olivia Phillips, jr, W-SR; Maddie Ahlstrom, jr, Waukon; Amber Rosenstiel, sr, Oelwein.
Second Team
Emily Friesen, sr, Crestwood; Lauren Griffith, jr, Waukon; Britney Young, soph, W-SR; Drew Becker, jr, Oelwein; Jodie Sindlinger, jr, Charles City; Lindsey McEnaney, sr, Decorah; Brynn Bodermann, sr, Crestwood.
Honorable Mention
Payton Reams, sr, Charles City; Abbey Thier, sr, W-SR; Haley Woodson, jr, Oelwein; Lauren Frerichs, jr, NH; Sydney Ross, jr, Waukon; Ambria Pipho, soph, Decorah; Annika Headington, fr, Waukon.

Cresco Times

Phone: 563-547-3601
Fax: 563-547-4602

Cresco TPD
214 N. Elm Street
Cresco, IA 52136

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed