All-District Football First Team selects 14 Crestwood players

CRESCO - A total of 14 Crestwood football players grabbed Class 2A District 3 First Team All-District honors for the 2018 season while 22 Cadet players nabbed District All-Academic Honors. Crestwood Head Coach Skip Eckhardt was named District Coach of the Year after leading the squad to the district title this year.
Cadets who were selected to the First Team Defensive list include: Wyatt Scheidel, junior, defensive line; Frank Hrdlicka, senior, defensive line; Mason Peter, sophomore, linebacker; Bryer Thompson, junior, linebacker; Logan Albert, junior, defensive back; Shane Vokaty, senior, defensive back; Carter Henry, sophomore, utility; and Harry Kitchen, senior, utility.
Crestwood players named to the First Team Offensive list include: Jon Henry, senior, quarterback; Reece Wilson, junior, running back; Zack Lane, senior, receivers; Kody Berns, senior, offensive line; Dalton Scheidel, senior; and Cameron Sobolik, sophomore, offensive line.
Five Cadets also grabbed District Honorable Mention including: Trey Burnikel, sophomore; Braden Hayes, junior; Garret Ollendieck, junior; Landon Simiele, sophomore; and Sawyer Swatek, sophomore.
On defense, Bryer Thompson led the Cadets with 69.5 total tackles, including six solo tackles for loss. Logan Albert was second in tackles with 59 total stops, and he had two interceptions. Mason Peter was third with 49 total tackles, including eight solo tackles for loss. Frank Hrdlicka had 27 tackles, including five solo tackles for loss.
Wyatt Scheidel posted 41.5 total tackles, including four solo tackles for loss. Shane Vokaty had 36 total tackles and two fumble recoveries. Carter Henry had 21.5 total tackles, posted 23 receptions for 352 yards and two touchdowns, and he had 176 yards rushing. Harry Kitchen had 35.5 total tackles, including seven solo tackles for loss.
Cadet quarterback Jon Henry completed 68 of 134 pass attempts for 716 yards, had seven interceptions and eight touchdowns. He also had 77 rushing attempts for 152 yards and scored eight touchdowns.
Reece Wilson led Crestwood with 1,084 yards rushing on 196 carries (5.5 yards per carry) and had seven touchdowns. Zack Lane had seven receptions for 100 yards and two touchdowns.
Offensive linemen Kody Berns, Dalton Scheidel and Cameron Sobolik helped the Cadets rack up 2,209 yards rushing this season.
Crestwood players who earned District All-Academic honors include: Kody Berns, senior; Trey Burnikel, sophomore; Gabe Grabau, sophomore; Braden Hayes, junior; Carter Henry, sophomore; Jon Henry, senior; Frank Hrdlicka, senior; Eduardo Jimenez, junior; Justin Kerian, sophomore; Nik Knobloch, junior; Zack Lane, senior; Kade Munkel, sophomore; Garret Ollendieck, junior; Andy Osmonson, sophomore; Mason Peter, sophomore; Dalton Scheidel, senior; Wyatt Scheidel, junior; Landon Simiele, sophomore; Cameron Sobolik, sophomore; Walker Sobolik, junior; Bryer Thompson, junior; Reid Wiley, sophomore.
Final District Standings
Crestwood 5-0, Clear Lake 4-1, New Hampton 3-2, Iowa Falls-Alden 2-3, Hampton-Dumont 1-4, Forest City 0-5.
First Team Defense
Linemen: Dalton Chipp, senior, H-D; Wyatt Folkerts, sr, H-D; Frank Hrdlicka, sr, Crestwood; Austin Larson, junior, Clear Lake; Dillon Roberson, sr, New Hampton; Wyatt Scheidel, junior, Crestwood.
Linebackers: Carter Ferrie, sophomore, New Hampton; Keegan Kane, sr, New Hampton; Mason Peter, soph, Crestwood; Tate Storbeck, sr, Clear Lake; Chase Stuver, sr, Clear Lake; Bryer Thompson, jr, Crestwood.
Backs: Logan Albert, sr, Crestwood; Jack Barragy, jr, Clear Lake; Mason Cleveland, sr, New Hampton; Gabe Rivera, sr, H-D; Shane Vokaty, sr, Crestwood.
Utility: Carter Henry, soph, Crestwood; Kody Berns, jr, Crestwood; Harry Kitchen, sr, Crestwood; Dustin Miller, sr, H-D; Evan Rosonke, jr, New Hampton.
First Team Offense
Quarterback: Jaylen DeVries, jr, Clear Lake; Jon Henry, sr, Crestwood.
Running backs: Kyler Hadwiger, jr, IF-A; Jaden O’Brien Green, soph, Clear Lake; Tristan Sweitzer, sr, New Hampton; Reece Wilson, jr, Crestwood.
Receivers: Nick Danielson, jr, Clear Lake; Drew Enke, sr, Clear Lake; Tanner Lane, sr, New Hampton; Zack Lane, sr, Crestwood; Karson Sharar, soph, IF-A.
Linemen: Kody Berns, sr, Crestwood; McKade Eisentrager, jr, IF-A; Noah Fenske, sr, New Hampton; Jared Penning, sr, Clear Lake; Dalton Scheidel, sr, Crestwood; Cameron Sobolik, soph, Crestwood; Ryan Thomas, jr, Clear Lake.
Punter: Lukas Smith, sr, H-D.
Kicker: Austin Hemann, jr, NH.
Offensive MVP: Jaylen DeVries, jr, Clear Lake.
Defensive MVP: Tate Storbeck, sr, Clear Lake.
Lineman MVP: Noah Fenske, sr, NH.
Coach of the Year: Skip Eckhardt, Crestwood.
Honorable Mention
Crestwood: Trey Burnikel, soph; Braden Hayes, jr; Garret Ollendieck, jr; Landon Simiele, soph; Sawyer Swatek, soph.

Cresco Times

Phone: 563-547-3601
Fax: 563-547-4602

Cresco TPD
214 N. Elm Street
Cresco, IA 52136

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed