National Honor Society induction

—Junior, senior classes boast 34 members in the prestigious organization
CRESCO - Crestwood High School’s National Honor Society held its 63rd induction ceremony on Nov. 17.
There were 19 inductees, who joined 15 current members.
The evening started with the processional of present members and inductees, performed by Ms. Darcy Hendriks, (7-12 vocal musical teacher).
The current 2023 members gave the program. They include Christopher Bigalk, Kayla Burke, Kelsey Burke, Shelby Burnikel, Nathaniel Dietzenbach, Britain Ferrie, Rylee Kapler, Teryn Lukes, Zachary Mehmert, Kelly Miller, Cameran Moellers, Olivia Ollendick, Quinna Ollendieck, Ethan Rice and Luke Stortz.
Britain Ferrie gave the introduction. 
Teryn Lukes stated the Definition of Principles of the NHS include character, scholarship, leadership and service. Current members explained each one.
Character (Luke Stortz): “The definition of character, according to the Oxford Dictionary, is the mental and moral qualities distinctive to an individual.” He joked, “The second definition to this word is ‘a person in a novel, play or movie,’ but I’m pretty sure I’m supposed to be talking about the first one, so let’s go with that!
“You inductees are here today because you exhibit quality character. This is one of the most critical aspects to obtain in life. Positive character will carry you through challenging situations, ethical dilemmas and anything else you may face.
“From this day forward, keep working on building your character, as it will get you very far in life. Who knows, you may even end up in a play or movie.”
Scholarship (Kelly Miller): Scholarship represents a commitment to learning. Students may spend hours of studying, knowing there will be lasting benefits. We should continue to learn, even when formal education has ended. Knowledge leads to success and can be acquired by diligence and effort.”
Leadership (Kayla Burke): “Being a leader, to some of you this may look different.
In your community, sports, school and church. You assume these leadership roles to make a difference and lead in your community.” To the inductees she said, “Continue working on leading will help you become a leader of tomorrow.”
Service (Rylee Kapler): “Service as defined in the Collins Dictionary is an aid of helpful activity. National Honor Society members are looked up to for their perseverence and academic achievement, but they strive to help the community without expectance of award.
“Service is the drive to become better each day by putting a smile on someone else’s face.”
Kelsey Burke introduced the speaker, current director of student services and special education at How-Winn, Mrs. Brenda Lentz. 
She said, “I’m honored as a former Crestwood graduate to be here to help you celebrate your achievements in scholarship, service, leadership and character. This evening is also a celebration of your parents and families, the people who have supported your hard work to earn this honor tonight.
“I spent time reading some of the applications for this year’s inductees. All of you have exhibited leadership in different ways.
“You have to work on your skills daily. But don’t be fooled. You will still fail. Failure is a requirement of success, and rising from every failure is no easier than the one before it. It is the times that you fail that your most authentic self will rise to the surface. The relationships you have built along the way will help guide you back to your chosen path and allow you to trust yourself, with more risks and handle more challenges as they come in your life. Do what is right.
Shelby Burnikel, Cameran Moellers and Quinna Ollendieck presented the new inductees: from the Class of 2023 — Ana Gibbs and Class of 2024 — Kaleb Adams, Jessalyn Birdd, Chyann Bullerman-Yu, Lucy Drees, Ava Ferrie, Kaiya Holten, Cloey Horns, Addalyn Isaacson, Kaylee Johnson, Ella Keller, Cody Kerian, Macie Mashek, Robert Ollendieck, Paige Pecinovsky, Parker Rice, Payton Ruppert, Gabriel Slavin and Joey Vobr.
Nathaniel Dietzenbach gave the pledge to the inductees.
Lukes, Christopher Bigalk, Zachary Mehmert and Ethan Rice bestowed the stoles and presentation of certificates.
Olivia Ollendick gave the closing comments, and the recessional was played by Hendriks.
According to its website, the National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in core areas.

Cresco Times

Phone: 563-547-3601
Fax: 563-547-4602

Cresco TPD
214 N. Elm Street
Cresco, IA 52136

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed