Crestwood Dollars for Scholars Phonathon

Cresco - Community members are invited to help fund scholarships for Crestwood High School students during the school’s annual Dollars for Scholars Phonathon on Wednesday, Jan. 25. In case of bad weather, the event will be on Feb. 1.
High school students will reach out to the community by calling the evening of Jan. 25 from 6:30-8:30 p.m. 
The money raised will go to graduating seniors to help them with expenses associated with post-secondary education. Winners of the scholarships will be announced at the awards ceremony in May.
Dollars for Scholars Board member Trish Hartman said, “Dollars for Scholars is an event where high school students make phone calls to potential community donors. We hope the community will support us, whether that is by donating $1, $5 or $10, $20 or more. It’s a great way to help our students attend some type of post-secondary education. Our goal this year is $20,000.” 
She continued, “We have a phonathon each year to help raise money for additional scholarships for the graduating class. We ask juniors and seniors to assist as the money raised goes directly to them in the form of scholarships.”
Students making calls to the community during the 2023 Dollars for Scholars phonathon include seniors Ethan Rice and Nora Ryan and juniors Joey Vobr and Ella Keller.
Rice and Ryan were the junior representatives last year and are now helping the junior class representatives learn the ropes, so they can be in charge next year.
Hartman noted, “The students give a student voice to Dollars for Scholars.”
Dollars for Scholars has been giving scholarships since 1993 and has presented over $3 million in scholarships to students since then. Students must submit a first-semester transcript and a second-semester schedule when they collect their scholarship money.
Chapter members include Al Voyna, president; Aaron Hvitved, Vice President; Laura Schmauss, Secretary; Michele Tuchek, Treasurer; and members Tasha Hart, Trish Hartman, Tammy Henderson, Missy Hvitved, Wayne Kreitzer, Brian McConnell, Julie Montgomery, Barb Moore, Lisa Nelson, Harold Noe, Deb Novak, Sally Peter, Kay Reis, Kathy Rice, Leslie Sivesind, Steve Sopha, Shirley Sovereign, Stephanie Thomson, Michael Ollendick, Scott Wiley, Jenn Wiley, and Erin Solomon, along with student representatives, Joey Vobr, Ella Keller, Ethan Rice and Nora Ryan.
For more information about Dollars for Scholars, visit the website: Donations can be sent to Crestwood Dollars for Scholars, P.O. Box 73, Cresco, Iowa  52136.

Cresco Times

Phone: 563-547-3601
Fax: 563-547-4602

Cresco TPD
214 N. Elm Street
Cresco, IA 52136

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed