Crestwood DFS Scholarship


Howard County - Howard-Winneshiek Community School District is proud to announce that more than $200,000 in scholarships have been awarded to graduating seniors this year thanks to the Crestwood Dollars for Scholars (DFS) program.
Seniors received their scholarships at the annual awards assembly at Crestwood High School on Wednesday, May 9. The awards ranged from $100 to $2,500. Many seniors were also presented an estimated $30,000-$40,000 in additional scholarships from a variety of other area endowments, memorials, clubs, businesses, and individuals.
“I can’t think of any other community that so sponsors these scholarships,” said Wayne Kreitzer, who has been a member of the organization since it began about 25 years ago. “It’s so wonderful to help the senior class, and I don’t think there’s any high school in the area that can do what Crestwood High School is doing.” 
DFS began at Crestwood in October of 1993. The first scholarships were awarded in 1994. Since then, more than $3 million dollars in financial aid has been awarded to more than 2,000 students. This year more than 1,000 individuals and/or organizations contributed to the program.
Al Voyna, President of the local DFS chapter’s Board of Directors, welcomed seniors and their families to the assembly. “We are proud to say that every senior who applied has been awarded a Dollars for Scholars scholarship,” he announced. “It’s very encouraging to see our community support the dreams of college and to further the education of our seniors with your donations. This is proof that you truly are invested in the future of our students.”
Additionally, students from Crestwood participate in an annual Phone-A-Thon fundraiser for the DFS program, led this year by DFS Committee members Brian McConnell (Vice-President, Board of Directors), Tammy Henderson and Deb Novak, with the support of Bryan Sheehy who has served with the non-profit organization for more than 20 years. This year the event raised more than $19,000.
The DFS Board has worked hard to prepare for the scholarship assembly. “The Awards Committee, led by Trish Hartman, has spent many nights reviewing student applications and assigning scholarships,” Voyna said. “Trish, here at Crestwood, has been especially instrumental in encouraging students to apply and assisting them with applications.”
Voyna continued, “Seniors, you hold your future in your hands. Through hard work and dedication, your scholarships are proof that your efforts have paid off. We encourage you to carry that vibrant success forward to the next chapter of your education.”
The DFS Board of Directors also includes: Laura Schmauss (Sec.) and Michele Tuchek (Treas.).
Committee Members/ Resource Persons also include: Doug Berg, Coleen Cauwels, Roy Gorter, Tasha Hart, Lisa Johnson, Harold Noe, Deb Novak, Sally Peter, Kathy Rice, Kay Reis, Stephen Sopha, Shirley Sovereign, Stephanie Thomson, and Bart Wilson.
Student Representatives: Abbigail Burke, Brooklyn Ferrie, Kristen Reicks, and Madison Steffen.

Cresco Times

Phone: 563-547-3601
Fax: 563-547-4602

Cresco TPD
214 N. Elm Street
Cresco, IA 52136

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed