H-W School passes public measure

HOWARD COUNTY - Unofficial election results are in for the many city and school elections that took place in Howard County.
The Howard-Winneshiek School passed their public measure by a large margin, 619 (64%) to 342 (36%) with all 100 precincts reporting.  
“We are thrilled the voters understand the importance of education and the investment in our students by approving the amendment to authorize the district to reallocate funds where necessary,” commented Crestwood Superintendent Kris Einck on passing the measure. “We want to thank everyone that was involved with the effort, especially the voters.”
The question asked:
• Shall the Board of Directors of the H-W Community School District, in the Counties of Chickasaw, Howard, and Winneshiek, State of Iowa, for the purpose of purchasing and improving grounds; constructing schoolhouses or buildings and opening roads to schoolhouses or buildings; purchasing of buildings; purchase, lease or lease-purchase of technology and equipment; paying debts contracted for the erection or construction of schoolhouses or buildings, not including interest on bonds; procuring or acquisition of libraries; repairing, remodeling, reconstructing, improving, or expanding the schoolhouses or buildings and additions to existing schoolhouses; expenditures for energy conservation; renting facilities under Iowa Code Chapter 28E; purchasing transportation equipment for transporting students; lease purchase option agreements for school buildings or equipment; purchasing equipment authorized by law; or for any purpose or purposes now or hereafter authorized by law, be authorized for a period of seven (7) years to levy and impose a voter-approved physical plant and equipment tax of not to exceed an additional Sixty-Seven Cents ($.67) per One Thousand Dollars ($1,000) of assessed valuation of the taxable property within the school district, and be authorized annually, in combination, as determined by the board, to levy a physical plant and equipment property tax upon all the taxable property within the school district commencing with the levy of property taxes for collection in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, and to impose a physical plant and equipment income surtax upon the state individual income tax of each individual income taxpayer resident in the school district on December 31 for each calendar year commencing with calendar year 2024, or each year thereafter, it being understood that if this public measure should fail to be approved by the voters, such failure shall not be construed to terminate or restrict authority previously granted by the voters to levy and impose a special tax for any one or more of the foregoing purposes?
~ For School Director At-Large and running unopposed Shirley Sovereign recorded 911 votes with just 12 write-ins.  For District 2 School Director, Andy Ludeking netted 898 votes with 10 write-ins, and for District 3 School Director, Stacy Dohlman had 914 votes with only three write-ins.  
In other area districts:
There were director positions for District 1, 3 and 4 with all three candidates running as incumbents and unopposed. Kyle Guertin won District 1 with 76 votes, Audrey McCarthy claimed District 3 with 15 votes and Lyle Eastman had 15 votes in Distirct 4, with one write-in.  
The district had three running for three spots as directors.  Jamie Hageman netted 314 votes for Director At-Large with six write-ins, Donald J. Manderfield netted 305 votes for District 2 with seven write-ins, and Jolene Steinlage earned 324 votes in District 3 with five write-ins.  
Incumbents Nathaniel W. Schwickerath and Jay Matthews maintained their seats as both were unopposed. The former finished with 820 votes and 4 write-ins, while the latter had 809 with just one write-in. 
In local city elections:
The City of Alta Vista saw Kevin Crooks named Mayor with 17 votes to Kevin Hubka’s 11, as 25 additional votes were write-ins.  
City Council At-Large had Kayla Pride beating out Amy Laures 44-35 with five write-ins.  For City Council At-Large to fill a vacancy, Adam J. Roethler won with 52 votes and one write-in.  
In Chester, Tom Cray ran unopposed for Mayor, landing 21 votes with three as write-in.  For the three city council seats that were open, Jeanne Marie Brockney recorded 22 (33%), Chris Keller had 21 (29%) and Clint L. Fousek earned 14 votes (19%) all getting in.  Getting 10 votes (14%)  was Nancy J. Agnistsch.
David J. Brenno, the incumbent running unopposed, recorded 445 votes with 13 write-ins to regain his position as Cresco Mayor. 
For City Council At-Large, Gary Kriener was another incumbent running unopposed and netted 436 votes with five as write-ins.  For City Council Ward 3, Jan M. Carman had 136 votes with three write-ins to maintain her seat as incumbent.  
City Council Ward 1 did not have anyone running and recorded 27 write-in votes. 
Running unopposed for Mayor was Randy Thoren getting 59 votes with eight write-ins.  
For City of Elma City Council at-large, there were 89 write-ins for the two spots, with no one running.  
The position for Lime Springs Mayor went to Rick Kirkpatrick, who beat out Brian Johnson by just one-percent, 48% to the runner-up getting 47%.  
Kirkpatrick finished with 59 votes with Johnson getting 57 and six write-ins of the 122 who voted. 
Getting the two positions on the LS Council were Michael Leverson at 42% and Jennifer Kalstabakken at 26%, who just edged out Terry Kirkpatrick at 25%.  Leverson recorded 95 of the 228 votes with Kalstabakken earning 60 and Kirkpatrick 58.  Another 15 voted for write-ins. 
For the City Council At Large vacancy, there were 38 votes casted with all being write-ins.  
Being elected to the City of Protivin for Mayor was Milan J. Mohn with 53 votes with 35 write-ins.  
The Protivin City Council At-Large had two spots to fill.  Adam Polashek easily won with 75 votes (41%), but Noah Heinrich and Martin Ahrndt both finished at 29% in a tight race, showing Ahrndt getting the win with a slight advantage, 54-53. There were two write-ins. 
Earning Mayor was Lynn Doane getting 116 votes and running unoppposed, with 8 write-ins.  
For the Riceville City Council at large, two seats were available with Wade Wanner at 102 votes and Paige Porter at 82 getting in. 
In the Council Council At-Large to fill a vacancy, Luke Harken landed 109 votes (49%) and Nathan Kinter had 81 votes (42%) in getting the positions. Amber Richardson missed out with 27 votes.  
Getting the Mayor spot and running unopposed in the City of Ridgeway was Sue Schnur getting 19 votes with two write-ins.  
City Council At-Large is still undecided as Marvin L. Schnur and Allyn Linderbaum both had 19 votes and four were write-ins.  
NICC Election
Earning the NE Iowa Community College (NICC) Director for District 3 was Jim Anderson getting past Julie Askelson.  Anderson finished with 1,712 votes (50.67%) to Askelson’s 1,652 (48.89%) with 15 votes going as write-ins of the 3,379 who voted.  
Breaking it down by county for District 3, Anderson earned 349 votes (42.72%) to 462 (56.55%) in Howard, with Anderson getting 1,363 (53.24%) to 1,188 (46.41%) for Askelson in Winneshiek.  Allamakee County had two votes for Askelson.  

Cresco Times

Phone: 563-547-3601
Fax: 563-547-4602

Cresco TPD
214 N. Elm Street
Cresco, IA 52136

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed