Four Cadet boys earn NEIC baseball honors


CRESCO -  Four Crestwood baseball players recently captured All-Northeast Iowa Conference Honors for the 2017 season. 
Senior Trae Pecinovsky was named to the First Team as an infielder, and junior Clayton Ollendieck earned First Team honors at the utility position. Senior outfielder Austin McAllister was named to the Second Team, and he was also named to the NEIC All-District Second Team as an outfielder. Sophomore Jon Henry earned NEIC Honorable Mention as a catcher.
Pecinovsky tallied 23 runs, 30 hits, including eight doubles and two home runs, had 15 runs batted in, posted a .326 batting average (.340 average in NEIC games) and had a slugging average of .478.
Clayton Ollendieck posted 14 runs, 32 hits, including 10 doubles, 19 RBI, a .337 batting average and a .442 slugging average. On the mound, he had a 3-4 record in 47.1 innings, had a 3.55 ERA (2.35 ERA in NEIC games), allowed 35 walks and struck out 52 batters.
McAllister led the Cadets with 30 runs scored, was first with 34 hits, had five RBI, led the team with 25 stolen bases and had a .382 batting average. Henry tallied 24 hits, nine RBI and had a .316 batting average.
The Cadets finished the year at 11-19 overall, including 6-12 in the NEIC. New Hampton won the NEIC title with a 17-1 mark. Decorah finished at 14-4, Waverly-Shell Rock posted a 13-5 mark, Oelwein was 6-12, Charles City was 6-12 and Waukon finished at 1-17.
First Team: Carter Stochl, senior, pitcher, New Hampton; Ryan Gorman, senior, pitcher, NH; Ian Smith, junior, catcher, Decorah; Noah Hopp, senior, infield, NH; Brannan Hogan, junior, infield, Decorah; Luke Willis, junior, infield, Waverly-SR; Dom Robertson, sophomore, infield, Oelwein; Trae Pecinovsky, senior, infield, Crestwood; Zach Wemark, senior, outfield, NH; Josh Fenske, junior, outfield, NH; Jackson Little, senior, outfield, W-SR; Clayton Ollendieck, junior, utility, Crestwood.
Second Team: Jace Johnson, sophomore, pitcher, Decorah; Carson Kallenberger, junior, pitcher, W-SR; Hunter Destival, senior, catcher, W-SR; Keegan Tenge, senior, infield, NH; Drake Shelton, sophomore, infield, Decorah; Ryan Willis, junior, infield, W-SR; Drew Mitchell, senior, infield, Charles City; Nathan Benzing, senior, infield, Waukon; Jackson Varney, junior, outfield, Decorah; Austin McAllister, senior, outfield, Crestwood; Mitchell Snitker, junior, outfield, Waukon; Sayer Woodson, junior, utility, Oelwein.
Honorable Mention: Brady Leonard, junior, pitcher, W-SR; Jon Henry, sophomore, catcher, Crestwood; Aden Zwanziger, junior, infield, NH; Hunter Logan, senior, infield, Oelwein; Theo Arndt, junior, infield, Charles City; Dawson Holkesvik, junior, outfield, Decorah; Kaden Dewey, freshman, outfield, W-SR; Dawson Meyer, senior, utility, Decorah; John Stensland, senior, utility, W-SR.

Cresco Times

Phone: 563-547-3601
Fax: 563-547-4602

Cresco TPD
214 N. Elm Street
Cresco, IA 52136

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed