Honoring fallen officer


CRESCO - Howard County  Sheriff Mike Miner hosted a memorial service for Deputy Sheriff Stevan H. Owen and all fallen officers of the law on Monday, May 15, for National Police Officer Week. 
Showing that “Blue Lives Matter,” current and former officers, as well as many staff at Howard County Courthouse and the supervisors, attended the service.
Owen was killed 40 years ago in a head-on collision.
Miner thanked the officers attending for their service and commitment to their job.
Paster Mike Simiele of Cresco Community Chapel gave the address. He stated, “As one takes a moment to ponder the great sacrifice that policemen and women continue to offer up each and every day, it vividly reminds us of the supreme sacrifice that God manifested when He gave His only begotten Son on Calvary’s Cross for the sins of the world.”
He noted there are many things a “seeker of peace” has to deal with, including traffic control, drug, alcohol and domestic abuse, giving medical assistance and even escorting a funeral procession.
In addition, the “In Memoriam” flag was raised below the American flag and was at half-staff for the day.
Deputy Owen
Deputy Sheriff Stevan Henry Owen was on duty the evening/morning of June 4-5, 1977. at 12:15 a.m., he was hit head-on by Paul Middleton, 17 of Mason City, who crossed the center line near Riceville. Both drivers were pronounced dead at the scene.
Owen was 30 years old and married, with one child. He graduated from Postville Community School in 1965. He had joined the Howard County Sheriff’s Department six months before his death.
So far in 2017, there have been 48 officer deaths in the United States. Iowa has seen just one this year, which took place May 1, when Deputy Sheriff Mark Burbridge, age 43, of Pottawattamie County was shot and killed by an escaped inmate.
In 2016, there was a total of 145 officer deaths in the United States, five in Iowa; and in 2015, there were 141 in the U.S. and one in Iowa.
Currently Serving
Officers currently serving in Howard County include:
• Sheriff’s Department: Sheriff Miner; Deputy/Jail Administrator, Darwin Kueker; Deputies, Tim Beckman, Ryan Van De Walker, Cory Jarchow, Milan Grubl, Shane Thorsten, Richard Hollenbeck and Samuel Fotiadis; Civil Deputy Jennifer Bauer; and Dispatchers/Jailers, Sandi Lybbert, Rita Roberts, Jessica Gesell, Cathy Cleveland, Michelle Kuhn and Becky Hodges
• Cresco Police Department: Chief of Police Tim Ruroden, Assistant Chief David D. Winkie, Lieutenant David M. Godman, Sergeant Troy D. Brandau, Patrolman Shannon R. Cox and Officer Wade Michels

Cresco Times

Phone: 563-547-3601
Fax: 563-547-4602

Cresco TPD
214 N. Elm Street
Cresco, IA 52136

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed